



THE INDIAN ECONOMETRIC SOCIETY (TIES) ANNUAL CONFERENCE

March 3-5, 2025 | Banaras Hindu University

BROCHURE

Jointly organised by

Department of Economics, Banaras Hindu University

Ŀ

The Indian Econometric Society

Co-hosted by

National Bank for financing Infrastructure and Development



Prologue

The culturally rich city of Varanasi is characterized by its historical significance, vibrant traditions, and scenic beauty along the banks of the sacred Ganges. The average temperature of Varanasi varies from 18°C to 25°C in the beginning of the month of March, providing a pleasant and comfortable climate for the conference.



Banaras Hindu University (BHU), founded in 1916 by Pt. Madan Mohan Malaviya, is a premier institution located in Varanasi, blending traditional and modern disciplines such as liberal arts, sciences, medicine, and agriculture. Ranked 5th among Indian universities in the NIRF and recognized as an 'Institution of Eminence,' BHU is renowned for its distinguished alumni, including six Bharat Ratna laureates, and for its globally impactful research, with 53 scientists ranked among the top 2% worldwide. With world-class infrastructure and a commitment to inclusivity, BHU fosters academic excellence and cultural values, embodying Malaviya Ji's vision of an enlightened, united, and progressive India.

The **Department of Economics** at Banaras Hindu University (BHU), established in 1918, is one of India's oldest and most prestigious economics departments. Inspired by Mahamana Madan Mohan Malaviya's vision of integrating economics with Indian values and societal needs, the department emphasizes modern education, critical thinking, and problem-solving. It offers a range of undergraduate, postgraduate, and doctoral programs, enabling students to acquire broad knowledge and specialized expertise in economics. With distinguished faculty and impactful research published in leading journals, the department has significantly influenced policymaking and nurtured alumni who have contributed to economics both in India and globally.

The Indian Econometric Society (TIES) is one of the oldest and largest bodies of professional econometricians and quantitative economists, with more than 2,000 members from across India and abroad. The society organizes an annual conference and conducts various workshops and training programs on econometric techniques and methodology across the nation. The society also publishes its own journal, the *Journal of Quantitative Economics*, which is published by Springer.

The **59th Annual Conference of The Indian Econometric Society** will be held at the Department of Economics,
Banaras Hindu University, from March 3-5, 2025. This
prestigious conference provides a platform for
presenting high-quality research by academicians,
research scholars, and policymakers, facilitating
meaningful discussions to advance research and
contribute to societal welfare. The sessions will cover
diverse topics such as Macroeconomics, Monetary
Economics, Public Finance, Infrastructure, Industry,
Agriculture, International Trade, Development
Economics, Econometric Theory, Policy Issues
(including those of the RBI and the Government),
Money, Banking & Finance, and other areas of
academic and policy interest.

Varanasi is one of the world's oldest continuously inhabited cities, a vibrant hub of spirituality, culture, and heritage, located on the banks of the sacred Ganges River. Known as the cultural capital of India, it is famous for its ancient temples, bustling ghats, and narrow lanes. Must-visit attractions include the Kashi Vishwanath Temple, a sacred shrine dedicated to Lord Shiva; Dashashwamedh Ghat, renowned for its mesmerising evening Ganga Aarti; and Sarnath, where Lord Buddha delivered his first sermon. Other highlights include the serene Assi Ghat, the historic Ramnagar Fort, and the city's vibrant markets offering Banarasi silk sarees and handicrafts.

000000

Date: March 3-5, 2025

) '

Venue : Department of Economics, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi

Pre-Conference Workshop on Big Data and Machine Learning will be held on March 2, 2025. Interested participants may register for the workshop on the spot. No accommodation will be provided for workshop attendees for the night of March 1, 2025. Participants are required to arrange their own accommodation. Local organizers may assist in finding suitable options. Interested participants will have to pay Rs.300 for on the spot registration for pre conference workshop.



How to Reach: Varanasi is well-connected to most major cities through a robust rail network, with frequent mail and express train services. The city has three prominent railway stations: Varanasi Junction, Varanasi City, and Banaras. Additionally, Pt. Deen Dayal Upadhyay Railway Station, located on the New Delhi–Howrah route, is about 18 kilometres from the university and is easily accessible via auto-rickshaws or taxis. Varanasi is also well-connected by air, with Lal Bahadur Shastri International Airport, located approximately 30 kilometres from BHU, offering direct flights to major cities across the country.



Accommodation: Shared accommodation will be provided to all outstation participants. They will be accommodated either in the university guest house or at a nearby suitable location. Accommodation will be available for the nights of March 2-5, 2025.

Conference Organizing Committee

Patron Prof. Sanjay Kumar, Hon'ble, Vice Chancellor(I/C) cum Rector, BHU Co-Patron Prof. Binda D. Paranjape, Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences, BHU Chairman Prof. Mrutyunjaya Mishra, Head, Dept. of Economics, BHU

Members

Dept. of Economics

Prof. Rajeev Kumar Bhatt

Prof. N.K. Mishra

Prof. Rakesh Raman

Prof. Nidhi Sharma

Prof. Manisha A. Mehrotra

Dr. Padmini Ravindra Nath

Dr. Udai Bhan Singh

Dr. Manokamana Ram

Dr. Amisha Gupta

Dr. Manoj Kumar

Dr. Pankaj Soni

Dr. Priyabrata Sahoo

Dr. Dibakar Sahoo

Dr. Hari Ram Prajapati

Dr. Tanu Shivnani

Dept. of Agricultural Economics

Prof. Rakesh Singh

DAV

Prof. Anup Kumar Mishra

Dr. Mayank Kumar Singh

Dr. Parul Jain

Dr. Ahuti Singh

Dr. Siddharth Singh

Dr. Shalini Singh

AMPG

Dr. Annapurna Dixit

Dr. Namita Gupta

VCW

Prof. Ranjana Seth

Prof. Vibha Joshi

Dr. Yogita Beri

Mr. Yogendra Jain

Dr. Samia Ansari

VKM

Dr. Kalpalata Dimri

Dr. Indu Upadhyay

Dr. Vijay Kumar

Local Convener
Prof. J. B. Komaraiah
Local Organizing Secretaries
Dr. Bhanu Pratap Singh
Dr. Gajendra Sahu



Contact:

For registration, accommodation, and other local logistical details, please contact the Local Organising Secretaries:-



Email: ties2024bhu@gmail.com

Prof. J. B. Komaraiah (+91, 9450710386)

Dr. Bhanu Pratap Singh (+91 9490795381) Dr. Gajendra Sahu (+91 8318882607)

Dr. Surya Prakash Agrawal (+91 9580536466)

Mr. Vishal Yadav (+91 73033711)

